Indie-mood to write

I am indie-mood to write. (feeling witty, hahaha!) On a serious note, I have been watching local indie movies lately. And I thought to share my two cents with you. 

Disclaimer: I am not in any way a certified / legitimate / licensed (movie) reviewer. This is a personal review (is that redundant?) and I am only a newbie in watching indie films.  

Ekstra 
Ratings: 4/4

ekstra

Brilliant. The way the story transpired was impeccable. I’m not a Vilmanian (or any other -nian for that matter) but hands down Mam, hands down. Okay, I seriously need a hands down emoji right now.

Ang Babae sa Septic Tank 2: #ForeverIsNotEnough
Ratings: 3.5/4

septic

I really didn’t have much expectations for this movie. I honestly watched just for the sake of having fun. And it did not disappoint. I was even crying myself to tears! Eugene Domingo proved that she is one of the best comedians in the local show business.

Sana Dati
Ratings: 3/4

sana-dati

For me, this has to be the epitome of an independent film in this list. The story encompassed in a wedding scene, with a few flashbacks and inserts here and there. It was simple but clean. There were not much lines but the feelings were ~very~ present and successfully conveyed.

Ang Kwento Nating Dalawa
Ratings: 2/4

kwento

Kinda boring. There was no high point. When the movie was approaching its end, I was crossing my fingers for something to happen to change my mind but there wasn’t. Maybe that’s why it has a part 2? I am intrigued and will watch it for sure.

On The Job
Ratings: 4/4

otj

Eyeopener. A fearless movie which exposes the dirty side of Philippine politics. The cast is packed with “mainstream” actors and actresses but it did not in any way affect the gist at all. It even helped me as a viewer to remember which character is which since I’m not really good with names and (new) faces. And if this is a cake, it’s delectable from the first bite up to the last.

Sakaling Hindi Makarating
Ratings: 3.5/4

shm

I really enjoyed the plot twist. I would like to tell more but I don’t wanna be a spoiler *wink*. I also loved that this movie showcased the Philippine’s beautiful destinations, and in a major way promoted tourism. I wanted to pack my bag and book a domestic flight right after watching!

I’m Drunk I Love You
Ratings: 3/4

drunk

So much ~feels~ especially for guys/girls out there in love with their bestfriends! The plot is definitely not new, and the story of friendship alongside one-sided love made the film relatable to many. Now, where to grab a bottle of beer?

Do you watch local indie films too? 🙂


*CTO for the movie posters*

Leave a Reply

