Calaguas Island

I love going to the beach, that’s a fact. And since my birthday is around the corner, I decided to cross this one out of my list already. If you’re wondering how this one got into my list, that’s another story! 🙂

Okay, so how do I even begin describing this place? I have been to several beaches already but this one’s an instant favorite. Okay, Cabugao Gamay (in Iloilo) will still be the closest to my heart but the accommodation is still a boat away, unlike here where what you see is what you get.

The sand is white and very fine. So fine I didn’t mind walking barefooted. Never did I step on something that hurt my feet! (Or was I just lucky?)

Blue to blue green then deep blue sea. I love how it looks like it is a perfect gradient painting! Also, the waves are worth mentioning. They make the beach more “alive” plus I love the sound once they hit the shore, so relaxing.

DSC_0036
DSC_0046

DSC_0056

DSC_0061

DSC_0143

DSC_0156

DSC_0168

DSC_0068

DSC_0127-

DSC_0187

DSC_0189

DSC_0207

DSC_0213

DSC_0214

The next morning, we decided to climb the hill for a more gratifying view.

DSC_0253

DSC_0277

image

DSC_0269

DSC_0250

image

DSC_0289

One last look before we leave..

DSC_0057

How we got here: 
For this trip, we rode Philtranco bus (P528) in Pasay to cut short on the travel time (instead of taking a bus in Cubao). It took us 9 hours (with 2 stops -for eating and restrooms- in Turbina, Laguna and Gumaca, Quezon) to reach Poblacion, Labo, Camarines Norte. Best to ride at night so you are asleep most of the time and also bring water and food/snacks since they are (of course) pricier in terminals.

From there, we rode a jeepney (P15) to Vinzons’ public market, then a tricyle (P20) to reach the Minaogan port.

For our boat ride (roundtrip), we contacted Kuya Alan (you may reach him at 09465156115). P1,500/person for 2D/1N including tent and food (3 meals) and P2,500/person for 3D/2N and 6 meals. It took us more or less 3 hours from Minaogan port to reach Calaguas islands.

Note: There is no signal in the island. Bring something to play with like a volleyball or some board and card games. 🙂

Total travel time: Approximately 13 hours
*plus another 13 hours going back to Manila
Total fare cost: A little over P2,000 (including basic meals)
*plus another P600 going back to Manila

P.S. I bought my pasalubong from Jannah’s in Vinzons. They have a lot to choose from and with reasonable prices. I personally love the tarts! Also, the owner was so nice and gave me two Pili cake slices as freebies!

12891536_1305014759515846_1393908277858293841_o

Already missing the beach as I am writing this!

Leave a Reply

